Zone 3 logo
Brand Review

Zone3 Brand Review (updated September 3, 2020)

December 3, 2019

The triathlon wetsuit manufacturer Zone3 mission statement is: “Our mission is to become the world’s chosen triathlon and performance brand”. Zone3 proudly maintains an athlete-centric approach when creating performance wear, working alongside a full spectrum of elite athletes and highly skilled sportswear designers. Each product is very carefully tested before being released and then manufactured with laser precision and uses some of the world’s most innovative materials and technologies. The simple athlete-centric philosophy has cemented Zone3’s reputation among the global tri-community and has resulted in more industry design awards than any other brand 

The History of Zone3

James Lock Zone 3 founder
Zone 3 founder James Lock

Zone3 was founded in 2007  at Loughborough University. The founder was ex-pro athlete James Lock. Before he established Zone3, James designed and produced swimming accessories such as drag shorts and swim fins, selling them to members of his swimming and triathlon clubs. With his sporting pedigree as a national level swimmer James joined Loughborough University with a sports scholarship, fast tracking him on to the Elite Triathlon Program where he continued to refine his ideas and the Zone3 brand began to take shape. As he explains in an interview he started running his own business (Zone 3 and his other brand Sports-Instinct) after graduation with around £40,000 in savings. Initial aim for James and Zone3 was as he says: “To make me faster and more efficient than my competitors and simply to sell enough products to pay for my overseas racing costs in pursuit of Olympic qualifying.” After sustained a long-term injury in 2011 James Lock decided to focus solely on building Zone3 as a triathlon brand.  

Zone 3 Products

If we look at the Zone3 products on their official website Zone3.com there is a division between men and women products. Both contain following under sections: Wetsuits, Tri Wear, Google, Swimmwear, Accessories, Neoprene Accessories, Compresion & Fitness, Wetsuit Rentail, Cyclewear, Kids and Ex-Demo Sale. Under both sections you can find also merchandise from Blenheim Triathlon, London Triathlon and Challenge Family Triathlon.

Regarding triathlon wetsuits there are six models for men and women – Victory D, Vanquish, Aspire (also sleeveless), Align, Vision (also sleeveless), Advance and Valour. In the following posts I will describe these wetsuits in more detail.

Sponsored Athletes

Zone3 sponsors pro athletes in long course triathlons. Sponsored athletes of long course triathlons are – Tim Don, Josh Amberger, Daniela Bleymehl, Pieter Heemeryck, Radka Kahlefeldt, Andi Boecherer, Bart Aernouts, Joe Skipper, Sarah Piampiano, Matt Hanson, Adam Bowden and Fenella Langridge.

Product Reviews and Related Websites

In the following posts I will describe Vanquish, Aspire, Align, Vision, Advance and Valour wetsuits in more detail. Meanwhile, I comprised a list of related websites and posts about Zone3 and their sponsored athletes.

Official Zone3 website – Zone3.com

Official Sport-Instinct website – sports-instinct.com

Website of Tim Don – timdon.com

Website of Josh Amberger – josh-amberger.com

Website of Daniela Bleymehl- daniela-bleymehl.com

Website of Pieter Heemeryck – pieterheemeryck.com

On Challenge Famaly website about Radka Kahlefeldt 

Website of Andi Boecherer – andi-boecherer.de

Bart Aernouts on On-running.com website

Website of Joe Skipper – joeskipper.co.uk

Website of Sarah Piampiano – sarahpiampiano.com

Website of Matt Hanson – matthansontri.com

Adam Bowden on Triathlon.org

Blog of Fenella Langridge

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is cshow.php

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *