Roka Maverick X wetsuit
Triathlon Wetsuit Reviews

Maverick X Wetsuit (updated May 20, 2020)

January 21, 2020

In this post you can find information about the Roka Maverick X wetsuit – description and key features from the manufacturer website plus added reviews and experiences from users. Roka claims it to be the fastest wetsuit ever. If we consider that Lucy Charles-Barclay swims in it – then it’s totally true!

Description of Maverick X Wetsuit

The manufacturer Roka description of Maverick X: “The all-new Men’s and Women’s Maverick X is the fastest men’s and women’s wetsuit ever built. Marrying a redesigned supportive core with its hallmark shoulder flexibility, the X improves power transfer from hips to shoulders and streamlines your body from head to toe in a way no swimming wetsuit ever has – all while letting you swim freely and naturally thanks to Revolution X ARMS-UP™ construction and RSX™ centerline buoyancy. If you’re on a mission to FIND FASTER, this is your suit.”

The manufacturer Roka description of Maverick X2: “Swimmers with killer form will love its next-to-naked feel, while developing swimmers will adore the killer power return—up your distance-per-stroke and save your energy. More endurance, more speed, and 7% more buoyant — if you thought we couldn’t make the Maverick X any better, get ready to meet your speed and endurance-enhancing, not-so-secret weapon.”


Maverick X is a top level wetsuit. Models  available for men and women. 1:3:5 buoyancy profile with 1.5mm up top, 3mm in the core, and 5mm in the hips and legs. Standard manufacturer price €950-€975 ($950-$975 on the US website). Roka Maverick X wetsuit purchase options by affiliates: Wiggle.com

Key Features of Maverick X Wetsuit

  • Patented Arms-Up technology
  • Yamamoto SCS #40, #39 and Aerodome
  • Ultra-premium liner in shoulders, arms, and armpits for maximum flexibility
  • Strategically placed IXI™ support taping and core compression liners improve rotation and alignment
  • Expanded RSX panel on outside of hips and legs maximizes power transfer and enhances fit
  • SCS Nano Coating
  • Quick Release Ankle Panels
  • Low Profile Neck
  • Independent Neck Suspension Panel
  • Ultralight stretch-woven panel for forearms
  • Premium YKK zipper
  • New front lateral core panels designed to make your movements more efficient. Snappier. Dare we say, perfect.(Maverick X2)
  • 7% increased buoyancy for extra lift in the water (Maverick X2)
  • Fine-tuned ankle release panels to help you kick out faster than ever before (Maverick X2)

Reviews about Maverick X Wetsuits

Here I gathered different reviews about Maverick X wetsuits from different sources. I hope it will help you form your impression about the Maverick X wetsuits.

Review (unboxing) on the Youtube channel “Triathlete“, dated April 7, 2020

Review on the “Triathlon Gear Expert” website, dated September 30, 2019.

Short summary: The ROKA Maverick X Men’s Wetsuit is not a suit for novices. You need to be able to swim proficiently to get the most from the speed-boosting features built into this suit. However, if you are already a fast swimmer, this suit will supercharge your performance.

Review on the Youtube channel “Triathlon Taren“, dated July 19, 2018

Review on the “Triathlete” website, dated March 28, 2018.

Short summary: For $925, we expect a suit to be perfect, and the 2018 X doesn’t disappoint.

Review on the Youtube channel “Real Life Reviews“, dated July 30, 2017

Review on the “Tririg” website, dated January 3, 2017.

Short summary: In all, the Maveric X works really well, and this is the most comfortable suit I’ve worn in over a decade.

Review on the “220triathlon” website, dated November 4, 2016.

Short summary: Hands down, the best wetsuit we’ve ever tried… But one that comes at a massive cost 95%.

Review on the “Atriathletesdiary” website, dated August 19, 2016.

Short summary: I loved it! I was impressed with the way it was made with the different panels. I was impressed with the feel of it. And, I was impressed with the way it came on and off pretty easily. But I was most impressed with how I felt gliding through the water.

Review on the “Slowtwitch” website, dated July 12, 2016.

Short summary: Roka has a style about it. The company I’m talking about. It feels like Apple or Under Armour.

Related sites

Roka official website Roka.com

My post “Roka Brand Review”

My post “Triathlon Wetsuits – Materials and Technologies”

My post “Most expensive wetsuits-triathlon wetsuits

Website of “Triathlon Gear Expert” – triathlongearexpert.com

Website of “220triathlon” – 220triathlon.com

Website of “Triathlete” – triathlete.com

Website of “Tririg” – tririg.com

Website of “Slowtwitch” – slowtwitch.com

Website of “A Triathletes Diary” – atriathletesdiary.com

Roka Maverick X wetsuit purchase options by affiliates: Wiggle.com

 

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is cshow.php

Only registered users can comment.

  1. Hi! I have Maveric X in my wetsuit fleet. It’s very comfortable and with that I mean that there is no squeezed sausage feeling when you have it on.
    The good stuff with the suit is that you feel that all engineering mind behind – you see that |X| on back, and then there is different neoprene thickness at leg zone, and these small inserts at lower leg to put it on or add easier and so on….Suit is full of small important details, that creates its value,
    But damn… I had bloody neck after first 3K swim…. maybe the fault was fact that it was beginning of open water season as after giving second chance and a bit of lube on neck fixed the issue. But I still would look on area where zipper ends….. too many handcraft there.
    After wearing this suit I came to conclusion, that there is no fast or slow wetsuits….. there are fast and not so fast swimmers. But I really like the cosines of the suit, but try something cheeper before…. to feel the difference and taste of extra pennies:)
    See you at some Ironman finish line!!!!

    1. Thank you very much DziKa for sharing your experience with the Maverick X wetsuit. Hope you find a way to cope with the bloody neck situation!

    2. Thank you very much Dzintars for letting me try out your Roka Maverick X wetsuit. It was fun to swim together since very long time.
      Regarding the Roka Maverick X wetsuit…WOW. It’s fantastic!!! The fit was 100%. The buoyancy profile 1:3:5 suits me very well because it lifts my legs. There’s no restriction it the shoulders at all. The neoprene feels thick, nevertheless it’s light and I did’t have the feeling of being in a bad. My favorite wetsuit up until now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *